Tue. Mar 21st, 2023

SADC Annual Scholarships 2022


The Southern African Development Community (SADC) is a Regional Economic Community comprising 16 Member States, namely; Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe

The SADC, as an institution, commemorated the 40th Anniversary of its journey from 1st April, 1980 when its forerunner, the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC) was officially established, in Lusaka, Zambia and later transformed to SADC on 17th August 1992 in Windhoek, Namibia. Since its inception, SADC has demonstrated unwavering commitment to the advancement of the regional integration agenda, specifically socio-economic development, peace, stability and security in the region.

From 1977, active consultations were undertaken by representatives of Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Eswatini, United Republic of Tanzania and Zambia, working together as Frontline States. Southern African Development Co-ordination Conference (SADCC-precursor to SADC) was officially formed on 1 April, 1980 comprising all the majority ruled states of Southern Africa, Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Eswatini, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The Heads of States and Government of the Frontline States and representatives of the governments of Lesotho, Malawi, and Eswatini signed the Lusaka Declaration “Towards Economic Liberation” in Lusaka, Zambia and thus SADCC was born

In 2019, the SADC Secretariat commissioned a Consultancy to enable the development and finalization of a Mechanism that designed to facilitate the recognition of and honour the Founders of SADC for their contribution to the establishment of SADC and subsequent pursuance of a solid regional integration agenda. The Mechanism in Honour of the Founders of SADC was approved by Summit in August 2020.

The aim of the Mechanism in honour of SADC Founders is to increase the level of SADC citizens’ awareness on the history of the liberation of Southern Africa, cooperation and regional integration, as well as to recognize the contribution by Founders of SADC to the SADC. The SADC Founders include, Presidents Julius Nyerere of Tanzania, Kenneth Kaunda of Zambia, King Sobhuza Il of Eswatini, Seretse Khama of Botswana, Antonio Agostinho Neto of Angola, Robert Gabriel Mugabe of Zimbabwe, Samora Machel of Mozambique, Dr Kamuzu Banda of Malawi and King Moshoeshoe Il of Lesotho. Consequently, the SADC Secretariat will award annual scholarships for the years 2022 and 2023 to full-time taught Masters, Doctoral, Postdoctoral Studies or Research to promote research on the roles played by the SADC Founders. The research scholarship is available to post-graduate researchers in any discipline (who hold a master’s degree as a minimum) who are planning to pursue research or further studies at doctoral or post-doctoral level.



Job Scam Alert

Do not pay anything in Job Search .

The Employer should pay you not the other way

Don’t Be Scammed.


Click HERE to join Hot Zimbabwe Jobs Telegram Channel


%d bloggers like this: